The beast who wasn’t the beast 

Hiss…. The noise echoed through the vast jungle… Hiss the voice rang again. I was rooted to the spot. And again a growl split through the quiet night air. I shuddered. I grasped my only protection my gun. The leaves wrestled as the creature prowled through the undergrowth. I was frozen to the bone. I imagined the fierce creature leaping through the shadowed bushes that surrounded me. ”I’v got to get help” I thought desperately trying to find my survival pack. But before I could reach for it another growl rang through the trees. I jumped. My heart was throbbing so loud I was certain the creature could hear it. I held out my gun trying to point it with quivering hands. But the threatening growles echoed from every tree and bush in sight. I swung the gun every where, until my eyes landed on a pair of burning amber eyes. They blazed with a calm fiery glow. I gazed at them in  fear and wonder. But as another growl echoed yet again, fear clouded my thoughts. I lifted my gun aiming it at the shadowy creature. But before my hand could touch the triggure, the creature leaped out of the bush moonlight turning it’s dappled coat silver. It’s bared teeth flashing in the silver light, it’s lip peeled back into a frightening snarl. I screamed as it crashed into me knocking, my gun out of my trembling hands. It hurled it’s giant paws at me pinning me down. I struggled but with every move the creature sank it’s long claws into his shoulders. I shrieked as drops of blood oozed out of my wound. The creature raised its head and let out another snarl. I looked up at the creature, it’s sharp fangs glinted in the moonlight. I closed my eyes and pictured them diving into my feeble throat. But the creature just bent it’s head down and whispered.  ”Take care of nature human and it will take care of you”.  I looked up sharply and found my eyes meeting the creatures warm amber eyes. I shivered. ”Don’t be afraid” it murmured. As it stepped lightly off my shoulders. And padded away into the bushes. “Don’t be afraid” the creatures soft voice echoed in his mind. I got up and stared at the spot where the creature disappeared. I sighed and fell on my sack. I felt my eyes slowly closing and the image of the creature’s warm eyes appeared again in my mind. Don’t be afraid. He heard the creature’s soft whisper again and again in his mind as he was lulled into a long peaceful sleep.

31 thoughts on “The beast who wasn’t the beast 

  1. Hehehehe!! I have a chocolate lab puppy, and she literally smothers me with adoration! She is soooooooo sweet!!

  2. I have recently talked to her. Give her a really cheesy joke when you get the chance. MMM… the snack that smiles back (goldfish) are yummy! 😀

  3. I have been meaning to but I have been so busy lately! 😦 My school work as been getting in the way… I’ll try emailing her when I get some free time! 🙂

Feel free to comment. :)

